Institute of Tropical Plant Sciences and Microbiology

Organization profile

Organisation profile

1、Establishing object (1) Basic and applied researches in high-valued tropical plants Basic and applied researches for high-valued tropical plants such as ornamental flowers and plants, fruits, vegetables and medicinal plants including growth and development, physiology, genetics, and identification of novel secondary metabolites for their utilization for medicinal purpose. (2) Basic and applied researches in abiotic stress biology: Climate change affects biodiversity and crop productivity in agroecosystem by changing the precipitation, temperature and other climate variables which are the key determinants of crop productivity. Basic and applied researches on how plants response to extreme water conditions (drought and flooding), salinity and high temperature are essential in ensuring crop productivity and food supply in response to extreme climate environment. (3) Nurture R&D and management manpower in Tropical Plant sciences: Biotechnology has become one of the major focuses for the government to promote high-tech research and development in plant industry. The education purpose of the Institute of Tropical Plant Sciences lays emphasis on teaching students not only with basic and advanced knowledge in plant sciences and biotechnology, but also training students becoming competent and skillful manpower. The institute also strengthens collaborative ties with Tainan Science and Industrial Park, and Taiwan Orchid Plantation in training and research. The liaison between our institute and industry will benefit the cultivation of R&D and management manpower. (4) Conservation and utilization of endangered tropical plant resources: Taiwan is located in subtropical zone rich in flora and fauna especially in the southern plains and hill regions, There are many native plants and show diverse genetic variation between different geographical populations. Precipitation, temperature, and other climate variables are key determinants of crop growth, affecting all aspects of agroecosystems.In past decades, industrialization and deforestation have led to rapid increase in greenhouse gas emission causing global warming and abnormal rainfall patterns in many regions of the world causing the degradation of plant biodiversity and crop productivity. There is collect afford globally in mitigation the growth in concentrations of greenhouse gases. Increase crop plants tolerance to high temperature, drought, hypoxia and salinity are crucial in ensure future food supply. Plant genetic resources provide large pool of novel traits for identification the molecular mechanisms and keys genes associated with tolerance to different abiotic stresses. Knowledge gains from these studies can utilize marker-assisted breeding and plant transformation to improve crop productivity under unfavorable climate change, 2、Teaching objectives (1) Strengthen collaborative ties with top research institutes provide us to enjoy the benefits of an active scientific community and access to advanced facilities in training students in R&D and management skills. (2) Liaison between the institute and industry in training students becoming competent and skillful manpower in plant biotechnology. 3、 Research Features (1) Development of biotechnology for tropical flowers and plants (such as orchid biotechnology ) (2) Research and development of biofuel as alternative energy. (3) Study biology of stress tolerance and application in tropical plants. (4) Study biochemical pathways in secondary metabolite biosynthesis and utilization (such as Melaleuca alternifolia and Gastrodia elata) (5) Integration of genomics and bioinformatics and strengthen their uses in plant physiology, biochemistry, genetics, growth and development, and evolution researches.

Fingerprint Dive into the research topics where Institute of Tropical Plant Sciences and Microbiology is active. These topic labels come from the works of this organisation's members. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

  • Network Recent external collaboration on country level. Dive into details by clicking on the dots.

    Projects

    Research Output

    Blue Light Regulates Phosphate Deficiency-Dependent Primary Root Growth Inhibition in Arabidopsis

    Yeh, C. M., Kobayashi, K., Fujii, S., Fukaki, H., Mitsuda, N. & Ohme-Takagi, M., 2020 Jan 31, In : Frontiers in Plant Science. 10, 1803.

    Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

    Open Access
  • 2 Citations (Scopus)

    Characterisation of the β-lactam resistance enzyme in Acanthamoeba castellanii

    Chen, C. H., Huang, C. L., He, M. S., Huang, F. C. & Lin, W. C., 2020 Feb, In : International journal of antimicrobial agents. 55, 2, 105823.

    Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

  • Chromosome-scale assembly of the Kandelia obovata genome

    Hu, M. J., Sun, W. H., Tsai, W. C., Xiang, S., Lai, X. K., Chen, D. Q., Liu, X. D., Wang, Y. F., Le, Y. X., Chen, S. M., Zhang, D. Y., Yu, X., Hu, W. Q., Zhou, Z., Chen, Y. Q., Zou, S. Q. & Liu, Z. J., 2020 Dec 1, In : Horticulture Research. 7, 1, 75.

    Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

    Open Access
  • Student theses

    Characterization of CYCLOIDEA-like genes in Phalaenopsis equestris

    Author: 盈貴, 廖., 2014 Jan 21

    Supervisor: Tsai, W. (Supervisor)

    Student thesis: Master's Thesis

    Construction of microRNA prediction model and regulatory networks in plants

    Author: 謝逸帆, 江., 2015 Sep 11

    Supervisor: Chang, W. (Supervisor)

    Student thesis: Master's Thesis

    Development of a system for small RNA next-generation sequencing data analysis

    Author: 冠傑, 曾., 2017 Aug 17

    Supervisor: Chang, W. (Supervisor)

    Student thesis: Master's Thesis

熱帶植物與微生物科學研究所

機構檔案

Organisation profile

一、設立宗旨 1、 熱帶農業經濟植物之基礎與應用研究,如觀賞熱帶花卉、熱帶果樹、蔬菜及藥用植物之生長與發育、生理、遺傳研究、重要化學成分鑑定與分析及開發利用。 2、 植物耐非生物逆境(高溫、淹水、乾旱氣候及鹽害)之基礎與應用研究,有助於農作物改良,以因應氣候變遷導致極端水文環境變異下,為確保糧食生產及供應的穩定性,作出必要調適性措施政策。 3、 培育熱帶植物研究及經營利用人才。目前生物科技已是政府大力推廣的發展目標,相關研究及產業對於人才的需求大幅增加。成立「熱帶植物科學研究所」有助於育成植物生物科技相關人才,依地利之便可與「南部科學園區」、「蘭花科學園區」內生技公司進行相關產學合作,促進產學合作之交流,培養研究及經營管理兼具之人才。 4、 瀕臨絕種熱帶植物資源保育與開發利用。台灣屬南亞熱帶區域,尤以南部丘陵及平原區,原生熱帶植物資源豐富及組成歧異度高。有鑑於近數十年來,全球工業的快速發展造成二氧化碳過渡排放以及熱帶雨林的過渡開發等原因,造成全球氣候失衡、溫度全面上昇的情況,除了在已知的問題點上需要大家共同的改進之外,如何尋找優良的耐熱性作物便成為了重要的課題。熱帶作物在其演化的性狀上已保留了較大多數的耐熱及乾旱的特性及相關調控基因,若可篩選到良好的耐熱作物便可以得到實質有效的應用,藉探討其耐熱抗性之生理調控或更上游之分子調控機制便有助於其他作物的改良,例如:育種或轉殖基因植物等,以改善未來可能需要面對的不同逆境。 二、教育目標 1、 與國內頂尖研究中心合作,培育熱帶植物研究人才及經營利用人才。 2、 與產業界能量結合,培育高階生物科技人才。 三、研究特色 1、 發展熱帶花卉之生物科技 (如:蘭花生物科技) 2、 研發生物替代能源 3、 熱帶植物抗逆境之生物學研究與應用 4、 植物二次代謝物之瞭解與應用(如:茶樹二次代謝物的相關機制) 5、 整合植物基因體學與生物資訊學,並加強其在植物生理、生化、遺傳、生長發育及演化之應用與實作 四、近年發展 隨著次世代定序的蓬勃發展,開啟了生物大數據時代。植物與微生物的研究在農業上一直是極關鍵的角色,多種植物與微生物大數據日以劇增,如何從這些生物大數據中分析出有價值的資訊便成為未來農業的研究重點之一。因此生物資訊便成為未來植物研究所不可或缺的關鍵技術,生物資訊工具的開發與廣泛應用,更可幫助新農業的發展,走向精準農業。    本熱植所近年來利用生物資訊技術,以高雄區農業改良場長期有機試驗田土壤為樣品,成功發現有機田土壤微生物菌相具有高度生物多樣性,而其中菌相組成更與慣行田(施用化肥)土壤出現顯著性差異,進一步更發現,造成有機田土壤罹病率較低的可能菌種組成。未來,生物資訊將能更深入應用於探討無藥可醫的土壤傳播型病害,協助永續農業之發展。

指紋 查看啟用 熱帶植物與微生物科學研究所 的研究主題。這些主題標籤來自此機構會員的作品。共同形成了獨特的指紋。

Orchidaceae Medicine & Life Sciences
Phalaenopsis Agriculture & Biology
Genes Medicine & Life Sciences
genes Agriculture & Biology
Arabidopsis Medicine & Life Sciences
rice Agriculture & Biology
Transcription Factors Medicine & Life Sciences
Chloroplasts Medicine & Life Sciences

網絡 國家層面的近期外部合作。點選圓點深入探索詳細資料。

研究計畫 2008 2020

建立植物基因調控加值分析系統

Chang, W.

17-08-0118-07-31

研究計畫: Research project

香花蝴蝶蘭之種原庫建立及育種III(2/2)

Tsai, W.

17-08-0118-07-31

研究計畫: Research project

研究成果 2001 2020

Comparative transcriptomics provides insight into floral color polymorphism in a pleione limprichtii orchid population

Zhang, Y., Zhou, T., Dai, Z., Dai, X., Li, W., Cao, M., Li, C., Tsai, W. C., Wu, X., Zhai, J., Liu, Z. & Wu, S., 2020 一月 1, 於 : International journal of molecular sciences. 21, 1, 247.

研究成果: Article

開啟存取
polymorphism
Polymorphism
Color
color
Population
5 引文 (Scopus)

DbPTM in 2019: Exploring disease association and cross-Talk of post-Translational modifications

Huang, K. Y., Lee, T. Y., Kao, H. J., Ma, C. T., Lee, C. C., Lin, T. H., Chang, W. C. & Huang, H. D., 2019 一月 8, 於 : Nucleic acids research. 47, D1, p. D298-D308

研究成果: Article

開啟存取
Post Translational Protein Processing
Single Nucleotide Polymorphism
Proteomics
High-Throughput Nucleotide Sequencing
Translational Medical Research

Endophytic Microbiome of Biofuel Plant Miscanthus sinensis (Poaceae) Interacts with Environmental Gradients

Huang, C. L., Sarkar, R., Hsu, T. W., Yang, C. F., Chien, C. H., Chang, W. C. & Chiang, T. Y., 2019 一月 1, (Accepted/In press) 於 : Microbial Ecology.

研究成果: Article

Miscanthus sinensis
Miscanthus
environmental gradient
biofuels
biofuel

學生論文

Characterization of CYCLOIDEA-like genes in Phalaenopsis equestris

作者: 盈貴, 廖., 2014 一月 21

監督員: Tsai, W. (Supervisor)

學生論文: Master's Thesis

Construction of microRNA prediction model and regulatory networks in plants

作者: 謝逸帆, 江., 2015 九月 11

監督員: Chang, W. (Supervisor)

學生論文: Master's Thesis

Development of a system for small RNA next-generation sequencing data analysis

作者: 冠傑, 曾., 2017 八月 17

監督員: Chang, W. (Supervisor)

學生論文: Master's Thesis